Eliot Rosewater Book List

Eliot Rosewater Indiana HS Winners

The Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (Rosie Award) is chosen annually by students across Indiana in grades nine through twelve. Students at participating high schools and public libraries who read any of approximately 25 nominated books are eligible to rate each book they’ve read. Ballots are available on the Rosie website. The votes are tabulated each May, and the winner is announced.

The purpose of the Rosie Award is to encourage high school students to read for fun. It also promotes cooperation between school administrators, media specialists, teachers and public librarians in broadening reading programs. Rosie promotes reading across the curriculum.

Book Title – Author
All We Have Left – Wendy Mills
Assassin Game – Kirsty McKay
Boy in the Black Suit – Jason Reynolds
Burn Baby Burn – Meg Medina
Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose – Gillian McCain, ed.
Death Coming Up the Hill – Chris Crowe
Denton Little’s Deathdate – Lance Rubin
Flawed – Cecelia Ahern
Girl in the Blue Coat – Monica Hesse
Highly Illogical Behavior – John Corey Whaley
I Will Always Write Back – Cairlin Alifirenka & Martin Ganda
List of Cages – A Robin Roe
Madness so Discreet – A Mindy McGinnis
One Paris Summer – Denise G. Swank
Riders – Veronica Rossi
Saving Red – Sonya Sones
Serpent King – Jeff Zentner
Starflight – Melissa Landers
Sun is Also a Star – Nicola Yoon
Superman: An American Alien – Max Landis
Sweet – Emmy Laybourne
Taking Flight – Michaela DePrince
Three Dark Crowns – Kendare Blake
The Way I Used to Be – Amber Smith
We’ll Never Be Apart – Emiko Jean
All American Boys – Jason Reynolds
Amazing Fantastic Incredible: A Marvelous Memoir – Stan Lee
Be-liev-a-rex-ic – J.J. Johnson
The Beast of Cretacea – Todd Strasser
The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club – Phillip Hoose
Call Me by My Name – John Ed Bradley
Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans – Don Brown
Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy
An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir
Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon
Guitar Notes – Mary Amato
Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Ha – Alie Brosh
Inherit Midnight – Kate Kae Myers
Kindness for Weakness – Shawn Goodman
Made You Up – Francesca Zappia
More Happy Than Not – Adam Silvera
Need – Joelle Charbonneau
One – Sarah Crossan
Paper Hearts – Meg Wiviott
Prayers for the Stolen – Jennifer Clement
Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard
Salt to the Sea – Ruta Sepetys
Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Becky Albertalli
Slasher Girls and Monster Boys – April Genevieve Tucholke
Vengeance Road – Erin Bowman

All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven
Avalon – Mindee Arnett
The Beginning of Everything – Schneider Robyn
Belzhar – Meg Wolitzer
Dear Killer – Katherine Ewell
Don’t Look Back –  Jennifer L. Armentrout
Fake ID – Lamar Giles
Faking Normal – Courtney C. Stevens
The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion & The Fall of Imperial Russia – Candace Fleming
Gabi, a Girl in Pieces – Isabel Quintero
Half Bad – Sally Green
In Real Life – Cory Doctorow
The Kiss of Deception – Mary E. Pearson
NIL – Lynne Matson
The Naturals – Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Next – Kevin Waltman
Noggin – John Corey Whaley
One Man Guy – Michael Barakiva
Positive: Surviving My Bullies, Finding Hope, and Living to Change the World: A Memoir – Paige Rawl
Shadow and Bone – Leigh Bardugo
Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson
Slated – Teri Terry
Some Assembly Required: The Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen – Arin Andrews
Through the Woods – Emily Carroll
A Time to Dance – Padma Venkatraman

2015-2016 Nominated Books
45 Pounds (More of Less) – K.A. Barson
5th Wave, The – Rick Yancey
Avery Shaw Experiment, The – Kelly Oram
Boy 21 – Matthew Quick
Escape from Camp 14: One Man’s Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West – Blaine Harden
Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
Forget Me Not – Carolee Dean
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick
The Good Braider – Terry Fisher
I Am the Weapon (Previously Boy Nobody) – Allen Zadoff
If We Survive – Andrew Klavan
The Name of the Star – Maureen Johnson
Navy SEAL Dogs: My Tale of Training Cainines for Combat – Mike Ritland
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies & Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi – Neal Bascomb
Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong – Prudence Shen & Faith Hicks
Pretty Girl 13 – Liz Coley
Prisoner B-307 – Alan Gratz
Shadows on the Moon – Zoe Marriott
Six Months Later – Natalie Richards
Swagger – Carl Deuker
Testing, The – Joelle Charbonneau
Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
Waiting – Carol Lynch Williams
When I was the Greatest – Jason Reynolds
Yaqui Delgado Want to Kick You A… – Meg Medina